MIB3, HogsHead and Singstar

I have had a great weekend so far. It started with me going to movies with a friend after work on Friday. We went to see MIB3 and it was fabulous entertainment. I loved the young agent K (Josh Brolin) and it was good to see Will Smith again who has been a bit on the quiet side. I enjoyed the movie; it was fun and light with weird monsters and a little emotional connection at the end – good combination.

Yesterday I had a slow morning (still in pyjamas at 11am) when my friend and I decided on an impromptu visit to the HogsHead in Douglasdale. It is a fabulous restaurant and pub that opened towards the end of last year. The place has a real cozy vibe with a lovely deck outside and a real pub feel with their different draught beers on tap including some micro brewery beer like Pumpkin Ale and Grave Digger. The menu has traditional pub style dishes such as bangers and mash, burgers, chicken strips and chips, snack platters and so forth but they also serve pizza and salad. What was striking was to see the use of their QR code throughout the venue; it is on their menu, on a mural inside the pub, outside on the floor at the entrance. I found it real cute how they have managed to incorporate it into their decor.

HogsHead turned out to be a really great place. When we met up at 12.30, we sat outside on the deck as it was pleasant and warm but later decided to move inside, away from the blazing sun. The pub was full due to the Super Rugby but it was not overcrowded or too loud except for the screams when the Cheetahs managed to defeat the Waratahs. The only criticism I have about Hogshead is that they cannot make tea. After a few ciders I decided to have some tea. Yes, I love tea and I don’t care that my friends look at me funny every time we go somewhere and I ask for a pot of tea which is just so old and un-cool. I don’t know where the waiter had to go dig out the teapot but it took almost 15 minutes to bring the tea and it was horrible and the water cold so I decided on a coffee instead.

We had a really good time and it was fun to catch up and just chat as we haven’t done that in a while as she had been busy with wedding preparations for the past few months and I had been busy with work so we never got around to just sit, relax and chat about other things.  Unplanned meetings sometimes turn out to be the greatest fun which was evident when we were still at the pub six hours later and then decided to move to her house for some fun playing Singstar till midnight.

One thought on “MIB3, HogsHead and Singstar

Leave a Reply

