I am going to America…

This crazy song has been in my head probably since the day I decided to go to America. As with any song that you can’t get out of your head, you find it, play it loudly on the stereo and sing along – yes, until you find out after many minutes of googling the words and frantically searching the web that the song actually does not exist. I was somehow convinced that it was either a song from the movie, An American Tail, Rammstein’s Amerika or some strange version of Bruce Springsteen’s Born in the USA. Needless to say the song is still in my head and it seems I am not likely to find a cure soon.

I want to experience the real America and not just the touristy stuff although I will be doing all of that as well. I want to eat with the locals, go to the neighbourhood supermarket and see what groceries they have, go to the movies or watch a talented musician sing at the local bar. If you live in the US or have visited it and have advice or can give me some guidance I would appreciate it. My itinerary is something like this: eight days in Washington DC, rent a car and drive to Niagara Falls via Baltimore, York, Lancaster, Harrisburg and State College then go to Boston and Salem via Albany and then seven days in New York City before heading back home. If you know of interesting places to visit or eat at let me know. I have basically used TripAdvisor on the web as my reference source in planning my trip.

9 thoughts on “I am going to America…

      • Yes, it is very hot there now, in the upper 90s I think. It’s also very humid. At least it’s not as hot as Oman. From where I stand now, Washington summers are looking pretty darn good! 🙂

        Hope you enjoy your trip!

  1. Thank you so much for following my blog! I am very grateful, and doubly so because it brought me here, to you.
    About your trip to America …. I live right in PA, in the center of your itinerary! I would be more than happy to help you with anything you need to know. I’ve been to all the places you’ve mentioned many times. : )

    • Hello. Thanks for your reply. I love your blog and was especially intrigued by the Kindle deals as I somehow did not know about this – very cool!!

      I have never been to America and I feel there is so much to do and see and so little time so I am almost scared that I am gonna miss something. I will be travelling to PA – Harrisberg and Philadelphia so if you know of anything I must put on my definite to do list then shout.

      The one thing I am totally at a lost which you may be able to help me with is my phone. I am taking my phone with because since the introduction of smart phones it seems impossible to live without one and there are such stunning travel apps and navigation apps that I will be lost without it. I have international roaming but I am so scared to use my phone as international data prices are ridiculous and I have heard people returning from overseas to a bill of R45 000-R200 000 (about $6000-$25000) just by using data so I thought to buy a SIM card there and use it and all hotels seem to have wi-fi. Do you perhaps know how this will work or how I get setup? Is there a shop at the airport or city that I can go to and buy a SIM card and do I need a data package on it? Who are your cellphone network providers and is there a difference in the one I go to or can I basically go to the first one to set me up? I have no clue. I have the Samsung Galaxy note which uses a normal SIM (not the micro SIM) so I hope it is as easy as buying a SIM and getting connected. If you can provide me with some insight I would appreciate it.

  2. I totally understand your feeling! I had the same issues several years ago when I traveled abroad. The possibility of these outrageous bills is a huge worry.
    First of all…. perhaps we should move this conversation to email? I expect we’ll have a lot to share!
    Yes, I’ll have some ideas for your travels. But first let’s see to your phone.
    When you are traveling, you will find most of your hotels will offer wi-fi. It would be an exception if they didn’t. And it’s usually free… but double check that. There are also many other places with free WiFi. Starbucks and Panera are two places that both offer free WiFi and you will bump into both where ever you go. We’ll talk more about that, later. But you could probably operate almost exclusively hopping from one wifi spot to another. Especially in a city like DC. WiFi is everywhere. This should keep your data use to a minimum.
    The two largest carriers are AT&T and Verizon. I would go into one of those two stores to ask about swapping your sim card.
    You must be so excited!
    ; ) Kathy

  3. I sent an email to your address with the subject line “Travel in America” … just want to give you an alert in case it got caught by your spam filter. : )

Leave a Reply

