Alien fruit

On Monday morning they delivered our normal fruit bowls at work but there were these weird and flat, alien looking things in between the apples, pears, naartjies and bananas. By midday someone was brave enough to inspect it up close to see it was a type of peach although it didn’t look like any of the peach types we know and I secretly wondered if they gave us some reject fruit that was probably on sale somewhere. Curiosity got the better of me and I decided to break one open which surprisingly revealed a beautiful white flesh around a small round pip. I braved it to taste and it was sweet and succulent.

 

I googled this strange looking peach and found out it is called a doughnut peach (also called a Saturn peach or UFO peach – I knew this was alien!!). It is originally from Asia and was known as the Chinese flat peach. I don’t know how long it has been in our country as I have never seen it before or maybe I have but because it is so foreign the brain just ignores it and I can’t remember ever seeing it. If you happen to see it don’t be afraid, buy some. They are actually delicious!

 

Yesterday I walked past the finance team and saw that they only had the alien fruit left in their fruit bowl – argh, no brave people there. If only they knew what they were missing out on 🙂

3 thoughts on “Alien fruit

Leave a Reply

