USA Trip Day 22

Thursday was a sad day as it was the last day of our trip. Our plane was leaving at 11am the next day which meant we needed to be at the airport by 8am. We were on our way to the Guggenheim museum near Central park but stopped at the pharmacy where I experienced my first self checkout counter where you scan your own items, pack and pay it which was interesting. We arrived at the museum only to find out it was closed on a Thursday. I could not believe it. I have never bothered to check because it just did not cross my mind that anything in New York would ever be closed. It seemed such an unlikely event. I took a few pictures of the beautiful building and we decided to cut across Central Park on our way to the Metropolitan Museum of art.

 

Central Park is big. It is 4km long and 0.8km wide. We started at the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir which has a track where you can run/walk anti-clockwise around the water. Bill Clinton apparently likes to run there but I didn’t see him that day:- ) We somehow got lost and were suddenly on the other side of the park which has an East and West side. There aren’t many maps in the park and they are all the same so you do not know where the true East or West is in the Park and the “You are here” is missing on most of the maps so it does not help you much. The one thing about getting lost in a park is that you get to explore a lot of the park. We walked past the Shakespeare Garden, watched some rowboats at Turtle lake (which actually contains turtles which swim surprisingly fast), had a fruit salad at the boathouse restaurant before enjoying a view of model boats sailing around Conservatory Water which also has a tall bronze statue of Alice in Wonderland and her friends.

 

We eventually found The Metropolitan Museum of Art (or The Met) which contains over 2 million items – no wonder it is the biggest art museum in America. It will be difficult to see all the pieces so I got a map and decided on the things I wanted to see and did a few wings which included the impressionist painters. There was some beautiful stained glass and woodwork as well which I enjoyed.

 

Late afternoon we went shopping for gifts for friends and family at Times Square and also went to Macy’s which is the biggest department store in the world – it really is massive and has seven stories. We had our last supper at a diner which I enjoyed very much. It was one of those things I wanted to do as you always see it on TV or in the movies and the food was just great. I felt happy that I had seen and done most of the things I wanted to do on my trip.

 

We got back to the hotel at about 10pm and arranged for a car to take us to the airport the next morning at 7am. I was busy checking us in online when I suddenly noticed that our 11am flight was now showing as 10pm. I tried to call the airline in New York but they were already closed so I messaged my cousin to get hold of our uncle who works at the airline in South Africa (SA) to find out what was going on but due to the time difference it was 5am in SA. I eventually heard from my uncle a few hours later to confirm there was a technical problem on the flight leaving SA which was delayed which resulted in our delay. I don’t know why they say technical problem. Do they not know that I have watched most of Aircrash Investigation and those are not comforting terms. Anyway, we got to bed and at least knew that we could sleep late and have an extra day in New York.

2 thoughts on “USA Trip Day 22

  1. Hello. The Met is awesome. One cannot really describe it to anyone and I wish I had more time to see more of it but I thought rather see less and have some quality time than run through and don’t really see or appreciate much. I hope you get to go this weekend and then you can teel me what you have seen.

Leave a Reply

