Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Pets

This is my Polly. He is an African Grey parrot and I only found out a few years ago (after a genetic test) that he is male so forgive the name. It is a family pet that came to visit me one holiday and then kinda stayed. He is now about 17 years old (and may live past 60). He is a plucker (always biting his feathers) which is behavioural and unfortunately not much success in correcting that but on the bright side, I never have to clip his feathers and we can go for walks outside without me having to worry about him flying off although I am scared that an owl or crow may mistakenly see him as a lovely snack  but he is very skinny so hopefully they would rather go for a fat rat 🙂

11 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Pets

  1. Oh, he is beautiful!!! I knew someone once who had a parrot, and when they went for walks she always carried a BIG stick to shoo away a hawk or other unwelcome predator. I also remember that he took regular showers in their house, and had an awesome vocabulary. What a fun pet!!! (but I also remember it is a lot of work!)

    • Yes, Polly is a lot of work. He is also very fussy and temperamental. He loves to spend time in the bathroom and although he doesn’t get in the shower with me he has to be there otherwise he gets very upset and tries to break down the door. He has a great vocabulary but it can also get annoying when he starts ringing all the phones and then answering them or calling to Saartjie, a previous cat of my uncle and he has even barked a few times of when my cousin had dogs that he grew up with. He loves to dance and whistles out of tune like me but he is great fun.

Leave a Reply

